Wednesday of Lent Week 1, or His Will be Done

Collect: Look kindly, Lord, we pray, on the devotion of your people, that those who by self-denial are restrained in body may by the fruit of good works be renewed in mind.

Today was one of those days when you realize that God’s will is totally different than yours and when you realize that it is much better than whatever you had planned.

So one of the things I’m trying to incorporate with my CCD class are lessons in the Liturgy, specifically the Mass. An unfortunate case in my home parish is that there are many families, but few of them actively go to Sunday Mass in the first place.

As such, to start of the great season of Lent (there was no class on Ash Wednesday) we were supposed to have Mass today instead of class, but unfortunately our priest was sick and so it was cancelled and rescheduled to next week.

This allowed me to spend class explaining the importance of Lent and answering any questions my students had. Additionally, two of my students volunteered to serve next week as altar servers and another one volunteered to be a lector, even though he’s never had experience before.

And so even though this was not what I planned, I am glad it happened because it allowed my students the opportunity to serve. I can only be excited for what is in store for them and I hope they continue to grow in faith. It is my belief that appreciation of the Liturgy is what will bring people closer to the Church, and so I can only hope that the experiences I can provide to these children are seeds that will blossom into true faith.

After all, they are future, and we have a duty to show the Faith to them.

 

Leave a Reply

